Litig8: Wrongful Dealing with Property: What is the relief?

May, 2016

By Ljubica Petrovic, Lawyer

Each month as a part of Mills Oakley’s Litig8, we bring to you snapshots of eight key cases, legislative changes or other legal events. The summaries are not comprehensive and do not constitute legal advice. You should seek professional advice before taking any action based on the content of this email.

Part 8 of the May edition of Litig8

An owner whose property has been wrongfully dealt with may recover from the wrongdoer. In Australia, there is some controversy as to what the form of account for profits is available.

In Australia, there is some controversy as to whether restitution in the form of an account of profits is available to an owner whose property has been wrongfully dealt with.

The High Court in Hospitality Group Pty Ltd v Australian Rugby Union Ltd outlined that an account of profits as a remedy is not available in tort on the basis that a wronged owner cannot claim a windfall to prevent a wrongdoer profiting from his or her wrong.

However, such relief is available: where there has been a infringement of the plaintiff’s patent or in such circumstances, the High Court held that the defendants must be stripped of profits which they dishonestly made and which it would be unconscionable for them to return.

Contact Mills Oakley

For more information, please contact:

Melbourne

andrew-brown

Andrew Brown | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0961
E: abrown@millsoakley.com.au

ariel-borland

Ariel Borland | Partner

T: +61 3 9605 0015
E: aborland@millsoakley.com.au

darren-james

Darren James | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0952
E: djames@millsoakley.com.au

james-tobin

James Tobin | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0851
E: jtobin@millsoakley.com.au

joanne-hardwick

Joanne Hardwick | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0949
E: jhardwick@millsoakley.com.au

mark-wenn

Mark Wenn | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0913
E: mwenn@millsoakley.com.au

roger-jepson

Roger Jepson | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0899
E: rjepson@millsoakley.com.au

stuart-lewin

Stuart Lewin | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0986
E: slewin@millsoakley.com.au

Canberra

mark-flint

Mark Flint | Partner
T: +61 2 6196 5217
E: mdflint@millsoakley.com.au

matthew-roser

Matthew Roser | Partner
T: +61 2 6196 5229
E: mroser@millsoakley.com.au

Sydney

damian-ward

Damian Ward | Partner
T: +61 2 8289 5862
E: dward@millsoakley.com.au

gerard-breen

Gerard Breen | Partner
T: +61 2 8035 7888
E: gbreen@millsoakley.com.au

jeremy-mackenzie

Jeremy Mackenzie | Partner
T: +61 2 8289 5807
E: jmackenzie@millsoakley.com.au


peter-hodges

Peter Hodges | Partner
T: +61 2 8035 7845
E: phodges@millsoakley.com.au

mark-tierney

Mark Tierney | Special Counsel
T: +61 2 8035 7920
E: mtierney@millsoakley.com.au

Perth

craig-gough

Craig Gough | Partner
T: +61 8 6167 9807
E: cgough@millsoakley.com.au

Brisbane

dale-cliff

Dale Cliff | Partner
T: +61 7 3228 0430
E: dcliff@millsoakley.com.au

samuel-barber

Samuel Barber | Special Counsel
T: +61 7 3228 0477
E: sbarber@millsoakley.com.au

stephen-dickens

Stephen Dickens | Partner
T: +61 7 3228 0445
E: sdickens@millsoakley.com.au

 

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use