Seasonal Clerkships and Graduates

Overview

Join Australia’s most innovative firm

If you’re looking for a dynamic firm to ignite your legal career, Mills Oakley is the place for you. We’re looking for law students and graduates who share our vision of being at the cutting edge of a rapidly changing profession.

This page contains information about our Seasonal Clerkship and Graduate programs, including key dates for the hiring process.

Why Mills Oakley? We’re a leading independent national firm and we stand out from the crowd because we believe in doing things differently. We have been recognised by ALPMA as Australia’s most innovative law firm, launching the first Legal Services Accelerator in the Asia-Pacific and making strategic investments in emerging legal technology and start-ups. We are large enough to provide the challenge of diverse, high-quality work and clients, yet small enough to give you the personal attention that will help you achieve your full potential.

So make the most of your law degree and join Australia’s most innovative firm. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Seasonal Clerkship Program

Our Seasonal Clerkship program offers students the opportunity to work closely with our experienced lawyers and learn more about your chosen areas of interest. To support your development, we provide you with a buddy and mentor as well as an induction program including IT training, practice area overviews and professional skills seminars.

We understand that the beginning of your career in law is a critical building block for your future, so our program is designed to provide an insight into ‘life within a firm’ and for you to experience first-hand our open, supportive and friendly culture.

    Our Seasonal Clerkship program is structured as follows:

Melbourne: A four week clerkship, with the option of completing in summer or winter
Sydney and Canberra: An eight week summer clerkship
Brisbane and Perth: A four week clerkship over summer

All clerkships consist of two rotations through two of our practice groups.

Melbourne Seasonal Clerkship Dates 2021/22

Applications Open
Monday 28 June 2021 (9am)
Applications Close
Sunday 15 August 2021 (11:59pm)
Offers Made
Wednesday 20 October 2021 (10am)
Summer Clerkship
December/January 2021/2022 & June/July 2022

Sydney Seasonal Clerkship Dates 2021/22

Applications Open
Tuesday 8 June 2021
Applications Close
Midnight Wednesday 14 July 2021
Offers Made
Wednesday 15 September 2021
Offers Accepted/Declined
Wednesday 16 September 2021

Brisbane Seasonal Clerkship Dates 2021/22

Applications Open
Monday 5 July 2021
Applications Close
Friday 13 August 2021
Offers Made
Thursday 7 October 2021
Offers Accepted/Declined
Friday 8 October 2021 (accepted or declined by 5:00pm AEST)
Spring Clerkship
Autumn Intake Offered Instead
Summer 1 Clerkship
Nov-Dec

Canberra Seasonal Clerkship Dates 2021/22

Applications Open
Tuesday 8 June 2021
Applications Close
Midnight Wednesday 14 July 2021
Offers Made
Wednesday 15 September 2021
Offers Accepted/Declined
Thursday 16 September 2021

Perth Seasonal Clerkship Dates 2021

Applications Open
Monday 28 June 2021
Applications Close
Sunday 1 August 2021
Review and Interview
Monday 2 August to Friday 10 September 2021
Offers Made
Friday 17 September 2021 (9 am)
Offers Accepted/Declined
Friday 17 September 2021 (1 pm)

Graduate Program

You’ll kick off your Mills Oakley career with an Induction Program which will cover the basics of legal practice as well as providing a friendly introduction to key members of our practice teams. Over 12 months, you’ll rotate through three practice areas and gain a sense of your preferred career direction.

We are one of the few firms offering graduates the opportunity to experience not only the usual “big firm” practices such as Corporate, Property and Litigation, but also other areas such as Family Law, Not-for-Profit Law and our Private Advisory practice for small businesses and individuals. Have a chat with one of our friendly HR advisors to find out which practices operate in your home city.

Our firm is large enough to offer sophisticated work and small enough to immerse yourself in every aspect of a matter. You’ll be at the forefront of complex and often high profile matters, gaining practical hands-on experience and working closely with our Partners and senior lawyers.

The key dates for our Graduate Program appear below.

Melbourne 2021 Graduate Program Dates

Our graduate positions have been filled through the priority offer system, therefore, please continue to check the Career’s Page of our website for any further opportunities.

Sydney 2021 Graduate Program Dates

Applications Open
Monday 1 March 2021
Applications Close
Sunday 11 April 2021 (5pm)
Interviews Commence
Monday 3 May 2021
Offers Made
Friday 4 June 2021
Offers Accepted/Declined
Friday 11 June 2021 (5pm)

Brisbane 2021/22 Graduate Program Dates

Priority Offers
Monday 9 August 2021
Priority Offers Close
Tuesday 10 August 2021
Applications Open
Monday 16 August 2021
Applications Close
Friday 27 August 2021
Offers Made
Thursday 30 September 2021
Offers Accepted/Declined
Friday 1 October 2021 (accepted or declined by 5:00pm AEST)

Canberra 2021 Graduate Program Dates

Applications Open
Monday 1 March 2021
Applications Close
Sunday 11 April 2021 (5pm)
Interviews Commence
Monday 3 May 2021
Offers Made
Friday 4 June 2021
Offers Accepted/Declined
Friday 11 June 2021 (5pm)

Perth 2021 Graduate Program Dates

Priorities Offers
Friday 23 July 2021 (9am)
Priorities Offers Close
Friday 23 July 2021 (5pm)
Applications Open
Monday 26 July 2021
Applications Close
Sunday 8 August 2021
Interviews Open
Monday 9 August 2021 to Friday 3 September 2021
Offers Made
Friday 10 September 2021 (9am)
Offers Accepted/Declined
Friday 10 September 2021 (5pm)