The Property Mill Queensland – 4th August 2014

August, 2014

In the Media

ASIC: review of property schemes’ disclosure show disappointing results

ASIC commissioner Greg Tanzer has labelled the standard of investor disclosure in the unlisted property sector as “disappointing”. ASIC said it found unlisted property schemes were “failing to adequately disclose against benchmarks put in place to improve investors’ awareness of the risks of investing in these products.

For more information, please click here.

To read the Review of property schemes’ disclosure, please click here.

Mining tax remains in place

Resources companies will have to pay their next instalment of the mining tax after a government bid to repeal the impost was rejected by the Senate.

For more information, please click here.

Australia’s largest coal mine will fund artesian scheme

Greg Hunt has signed off on what could become Australia’s largest coal mine, the $16 billion coal mine and rail project to be built near Clermont in central Queensland. One of the key conditions imposed on the project will be for Adani to return a minimum of 730 megalitres of water to the Great Artesian Basin each year for five years.

For more information, please click here.

New vegetation codes released for landholders

Six new self-assessable vegetation management codes have been released by the Government for  Queensland’s farmers and graziers. Along with updating the existing native forest practice code, the six new self-assessable codes include vegetation thinning.

For more information, please click here.

Developer has to pay submitters court costs

Mr Bruce Ham who opposed a multi-dwelling development in Toowong gained improvements in conditions of approval has successfully opposed the developer’s costs application. The Planning and Environment Court  judge decided that Mr Ham raised properly arguable, bona fide matters of town planning relevance and succeeded in changing a number of conditions of approval.

For more information, please click here.

Legislation – Queensland

Bills

State Development, Infrastructure and Planning (Red Tape Reduction) and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2014.
See the Bill and Exp Note.

Subordinate legislation

No 159: Royal National Agricultural and Industrial Association of Queensland Amendment Regulation (No. 1) 2014

No 160: Liquor and Gaming Amendment Regulation (No. 1) 2014

No 162: Nature Conservation Legislation Amendment Regulation (No. 2) 2014

No 163: Nature Conservation (Wildlife Management) and Another Regulation Amendment Regulation (No. 1) 2014

 

Queensland legislation can be accessed at www.legislation.qld.gov.au

Contact Mills Oakley

Melbourne


James Price | Partner 
T: +61 3 9605 0824
E: jprice@millsoakley.com.au


Anthony Brearley | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0810
E: abrearley@millsoakley.com.au


Tom Cantwell | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0958
E: tcantwell@millsoakley.com.au

luke-westmore

Luke Westmore | Partner
T: +61 3 9605 0061
E: lwestmore@millsoakley.com.au

Brisbane

tony-butler

Tony Butler | Partner 
T: +61 7 3228 0432
E: tbutler@millsoakley.com.au

Sydney


lachlan-paterson

Lachlan Paterson | Partner
T: +61 2 8289 5895
E: lpaterson@millsoakley.com.au

Catherine Hallgath | Partner
T: +61 2 8289 5806
E: challgath@millsoakley.com.au

Tim L’Orange | Partner 
T: +61 2 8289 5816
E: tlorange@millsoakley.com.au

Canberra

adam-peppinck

Adam Peppinck | Partner
T: +61 2 6196 5203
E: apeppinck@millsoakley.com.au

Perth

andrew-logan

Andrew Logan | Partner
T: +61 8 6167 9802
E: alogan@millsoakley.com.au

patrick-thaung

Patrick Thaung | Partner
T: +61 8  6167 9803
E: pthaung@millsoakley.com.au

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use